Positive Motherhood

Did you know that HIV positive women can safely make their dreams of motherhood a reality? Indeed, if an HIV-positive mother is not receiving treatment for her HIV there is a 25% chance that during pregnancy, labour, or delivery, she may transmit HIV to her baby. But, if mom is on treatment, that chance falls to less than two percent!

Today we celebrate motherhood and there are many moms who are a part of our community. Please take a moment to read these stories of motherhood.

Marlo on being a mom:

“I remember when I had my daughter. It was like the world suddenly made sense. Separated from my Hayley, by addiction and homelessness, I fought an invisible force so great just to get back to her. My heart felt defeated, incomplete, and shattered without my child. I have fought murderers, AIDS, and addiction just to be a mother. Although I may have given her life, she was the one who truly gave me a life worth living and fighting for.”

marlo and hayley

Deb’s story:

“When I was diagnosed with HIV in 1991, I was terrified. I breast fed both my children and waiting for their test results was the longest two weeks of my life. I was so afraid that I would die and they would be orphans. Today I’m happy and healthy and it’s the love of my children that got me here, along with tons of support from friends and people like the ones at HIV Edmonton. I am a very blessed Mom.”

debHIV is just a virus yet seems to be able to take away or impact so many aspects of one’s life. These women are but two examples of incredible mothers in our community who have not let their status define what they can and can not do, or can and can not be in life. To all those fearless mothers out there, we thank you today and everyday for your courage, kindness, patience, and generosity.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

